NTA

Submitted by Chris on 3/2/02. ( rcarter@cvalley.net ) 208.232.214.148

I am interested in the opinions of NTA members. How would I benefit from becoming a member myself? I have been doing taxidermy for about 3 years now. I work a full time job at a factory. (anywere from 40-56 hours a week) That leaves me little time to pursue the career of my dreams. I dream of becoming a fulltime taxidermist. My concern is health insurance. I am 22 years old and am married. I have heard that the NTA has health insurance for its members, but how good is it? My wife is in college so quitting my job to pursue a taxidermy career is out of the question, or is it? I know that I am young and probably just impatient, but I having graduated from taxidermy school I am ready to put my education to work.
I appreciate everyone who gives up their time to read this posting, and would be greatfull for any opinions, or helpfull tips from people who have been there before.
Chris

Return to The Taxidermy Industry Category Menu

Chris

This response submitted by George on 3/2/02. ( georoof@aol.com ) 64.12.96.106

Like so many others, you have been given incorrect information. You can find factual information on all the benefits at the NTA website. Either go to the taxidermy net homepage and click on the NTA or go to www.nationaltaxidermists.com.

Chris, dont do it!

This response submitted by Bill Yox on 3/3/02. ( ) 205.188.209.78

DO join the NTA, DONT quit the job. The NTA offers accidental death insurance, not health insurance. Joining the NTA will help you protect this career you enjoy. Part timers are just full timers with another job. The NTA has many good points, all worth joining for. Any negative that you read here from RESPONSIBLE sources usually just concerns the manner in which some actions were being handled. Nothing to be alarmed about, dont be discouraged. As you become more active in taxidermy, you will clearly see the advantages far outweigh any gripes we might have. Good luck!