Compition Was a Joke

Submitted by Paul on 3/18/02. ( mifishinfo@aol.com ) 152.163.188.197

I just went to my first Michigan Taxidermy Association competition. I have been practicing taxidermy for about 5 yrs. and was considering entering the competition next year, but I first wanted to see what it was all about. What I saw was disgusting. I attended with another taxidermist that has a good eye for detail and we were both baffled by the poor quality mounts with blue ribbons hanging next to them. One blue ribbon deer head in particular had eyes that weren't symmetrical, ragged looking ears, and a nose from hell. The cape was also faded out due to shoddy tanning and the hair patterns were all messed up. It still won the master's division though! Basically, the nostrils on every winning whitetail were laughable. Most were painted pink and white with brush marks visible from 10' away. I've been looking closely at deer noses for 20 years and have never seen one look like that. When I asked the MTA people about the details that judges were looking for or a score sheet, or any written judging guidelines, they wouldn't give me any details at all. Instead, they just said that I would need to enter a mount and then learn what the judges are looking for. No thanks, I told them, I already learned enough. I learned that the MTA state competition is a joke and the ribbons they give out are strictly political and have nothing to do with rewarding taxidermists for creating a lifelike, high quality mount. Also, I have now lost most respect for taxidermists that toot the "award winning taxidermist" horn.

Return to The Taxidermy Industry Category Menu

Well next time

This response submitted by terry vining on 3/18/02. ( tvining@mail.riverview.net ) 216.120.182.166

Let us know when you are coming and we will all line up, get down on our knees and say "we are not worthy"