Just wondering

Submitted by Dan on 11/24/04 at 11:57 AM. ( ) 64.18.236.80

I keep seeing(for sale forum) coyotes for sale...$100.00, foxes...$50.00, skunks...$40.00, etc....PLUS SHIPPING! Do taxidermists really pay such outrageously high prices for those animals? The current fur market for those skins is much less than HALF of those asking prices, and trappers who get them are easy to find locally. I bought a dandy coyote last week from a local trapper for $35.00. No shipping and I can skin it the way I want it. Just wondering.

Return to The Taxidermy Industry Category Menu

It all depends.............

This response submitted by Jack M. on 11/24/04 at 12:46 PM. ( slugger332002@yahoo.com ) 216.81.99.35

on where you live and what you want. I live in Georgia, and the fur on the critters is no where near as thick as northern prime furs. I know cause I lived in Northern Minnesota two years. I have trapped for a living, and could trap until I was two hundred years old and never get anything close to a prime northern fur.
Since there is not much of a fur market anymore, especially for southern types, a lot of trappers sell to the live market. An adult coyote down here will bring anywhere from 75-100 dollars each live, and undamaged. For those that don't have a clue about trapping or know any trappers, and are backed up with work in their shop with little time, this is as good a way as any to get what you are wanting.

While it may seem a little high, remember this, some of these guys such as Bob Wendt, are professional trappers. If I decide to buy something from up north, I will be willing to pay a little more to someone like Bob who knows what taxidermists want, and knows fur handling procedures. Also, if I said I saw a pine marten, wolverine, or Badger down here, I wouldn,t be able to use my computer cause my arms would be in a straight jacket. Get my point? Happy Thanksgiving to all, Jack.

Why is it