Possums and rabies

Submitted by HOSS on 12/9/04 at 5:57 PM. ( ) 12.153.20.66

I have a young possum that visits my deck to eat cat food every night after dark. We have tried chasing him off and shooting him in the hind end with a daisy red rider to convince him that he is not a guest. It didn't phase him, he didn't even run. My cats love him. I look out on the deck and mr. possum is eating out of the same bowl at the same time as my two tom cats. This really surprises me since my tom cat absolutley hates anything foriegn and will fight a grizzly bear given the oportuninty. These three have started to kinda pal around together on the deck at night. I do worry about rabies. Are possums bad about contracting rabies? I know skunks around here are. I don't really want to kill it but I may have to if the risks are high. My cats have their vaccinations.

Return to The Taxidermy Industry Category Menu

I am no expert on rabies

This response submitted by Todd B on 12/9/04 at 6:57 PM. ( ) 4.224.195.167

Or probably anything else for that matter. I suppose oppossums could get rabies. Not sure if they are any more prone to it than anything else. But if it is not showing any signs of sickness or aggresiveness to your cats why not just leave him alone. Since you do not want to kill it anyways. Plus the cats love him.

Todd B

All about rabbies

This response submitted by Alex on 12/9/04 at 7:05 PM. ( ) 66.32.109.228

Copied and pasted:

Rabies clinics are offered for dogs and cats several times a year. They are located at the MCHS at 14645 Rothgeb Drive, Rockville, MD 20850. There is no charge for the rabies vaccination, but a pet license must be purchased. Each pet must be leashed or in a carrier - any animal deemed uncontrollable may be refused service. For the date of the next rabies clinic call (240) 773-5960.

Questions and Answers About Rabies

What is rabies?
Rabies is a deadly disease caused by a virus that attacks the nervous system.