how do i become a taxidermist?

Submitted by Michael Blackburn on 1/12/05 at 11:04 AM. ( Michael.Blackburn1@us.army.mil ) 81.31.193.170

hi, i'm Mike Blackburn i have always had an interest in taxidermy and was wandering how one gets started? i am from paintsville ky, and was wandering do you have to go to some sort of school? any help would be great thanks
mike

Return to The Taxidermy Industry Category Menu

lots of schools

This response submitted by Trophy Hunter Taxidermy on 1/12/05 at 11:18 AM. ( ) 69.66.94.216

Really depends on your budget. But schools in my opinion are far better than any video you can buy. There's no substitute for a qualified taxidermist looking over your sholder. Check into the Northeast Iowa School of Taxidermy (Matuska Taxidermy Studio). Tom is one of the best teachers out there. I could spend hours telling you how good this school is.

Depends

This response submitted by Cecil on 1/12/05 at 11:21 AM. ( ) 64.184.33.154

Some of us are self taught and have never gone to a school or workshop.

Albeit a little slower you can learn the proper techniques by the use of books and videos and attending your state, or national, orworld show seminiars, competing etc. Pratice, Practic, Practic. That is what I did.

If you choose this route the Breakthrough manuals are tops (sold by most major suppliers) and their is a pelethra of videos out there.

You can also attend schools and workshops which are listed on top of this screen. Be aware no matter how good the school is (they vary) you still will only have the basics when you graduate and you will have to improve from there. You skill level will improve the more you do taxidermy (if you desire to improve and compete at the shows).

A few have gone the apprentice route but I really don't think they are that common.