Tannery problems

Submitted by mike on 1/14/05 at 7:38 PM. ( ) 64.12.116.202

I just received my shipment of capes from Golden State Tannery. I have been using them since 1995. I was shocked to see the capes where shaved so thin, I am thinking "cool" then I noticed on one they shaved the lips completely off the cape. When I mean they are shaved off, there is not one part left. So in a panic I inspected the rest and found one to have only one ear, a big hole was left where the ear once was. Out of all the capes, two are usable with some work, the rest are trashed beyond repair. I have over 50 salted capes ready to send out with about that many in the freezer that need to be fleshed and salted. I am gun shy about sending these others out. I quite using my last tannery because of this very reason. This is the first time I have ever had a problem with them, and I am sure they have tanned over 1000 plus capes for me in the last 9 years. What I would like to know is if anyone uses them and has noticed a change in the quality of their work,

Return to The Taxidermy Industry Category Menu

maybe a fix

This response submitted by Dennis D on 1/14/05 at 8:16 PM. ( ddtaxidermy@portsys.net ) 199.239.214.112

Mike
this not the answer you wanted to hear ,but I won't send no more there .trying to replace those are going to be hard enough.
Try East Coast Tannery send them a cape of your own see how it turns out 1-877-tan-furs they even started taken in frozen capes and turning eye,lips,etc, ask for( Eric)

Trophy Game Tanning, LLC

This response submitted by Jeff on 1/14/05 at 8:53 PM. ( info@trophygametanning.com ) 65.31.134.219

We would like to have an opportunity to show you our work. References available.

www.trophygametanning.com
toll free 877 783-7682

We all have our favorite tanneries

This response submitted by cur on 1/14/05 at 9:35 PM. ( ) 4.227.118.196