US Outfitters and Non-Resident Hunters being targeted

Submitted by George on 1/14/05 at 11:09 PM. ( georoof@aol.com ) 152.163.100.202

This is still a hot button issue to those of us either living in the big game rich West or those who don't live there but would like to hunt there.

I've been paying blackmail money to Arizona for a couple years now. The've offered me "preference points", but it's still slush fund money that many of you have defended. Each year, I send $100 to them as a "non-refundable fee" to gain a preference point toward actually drawing an elk tag there. Remember, I have no actual plans of going there and they have no plans of allowing me to, but they still take $100 just for "bookkeeping".

Now there is correspondence about how they intend to sidestep ruling from two lost court battles. EXTORTION! I was told today that they are considering adding a $3200 'trophy tag" to non-resident licenses. This would mean that any hunter who doesn't live in that state would have to pay nearly $10,000 to hunt elk in America.

So for all of you who are "NON-Residents" like me, I have some suggestions. (1) Do not join nor contribute to the Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation. This organization, much like DU is just a yuppie clan collecting big money to buy up tracts of land that WON'T be available to you at a reasonable price. (2) Write you congressmen and let them know that you take exception to the massive amounts of Pittman-Robertson funds being disproportionally sent to these Western states. Why should the majority of the US hunter population be required to subsidize programs that they are being penalized with limited access. And (3) HUNT CANADA. With all the hassles of crossing the border with firearms, you can still get a fair chase opportunity in the Canadian Rockies for less than $7,000.