Is fingerlakes CC in NY taxidermy education worth it

Submitted by Dan on 1/5/05 at 5:03 PM. ( danbond008@localnet.com ) 64.179.15.223

I wondered if anyone has gone to or know about these classes. I thought about taking the bird and fish classes (the areas I have little experience in. Or would it be better to focus on tapes, state shows and work shops like I did with mammals and game heads. It seems like practice teaches you some good lessons. The classes are at Finger lakes Community College in Cannandagua NY. I was hoping to hear some opinions. Thanks Dan

Return to The Taxidermy Industry Category Menu

I would try it

This response submitted by Joe on 1/5/05 at 5:18 PM. ( mt_fuji@hotmail.com ) 207.224.10.213

Dan,
I'm sure the tuition is way less than having one on one with an experienced taxidermist. I would recommend learning the basics and then graduate to the next level. In my mind it would be polishing up the techniques you have learned with an "expert".
Community College would be a great place to start. Good luck.
Word!

Who are the teachers Dan?

This response submitted by tomdes on 1/5/05 at 6:15 PM. ( mapletax@twcny.rr.com ) 24.58.211.158

I wonder what their credentials are.. That's a great way to learn taxidermy, I wish they would have offered when I went to college. The big benefit of an accredited school of course is the financing and scholarships that are available to you. Go for it let us know how you made out..

Suggestion-

This response submitted by Junipera on 1/5/05 at 6:55 PM. ( ) 66.66.1.216

you can get the name of the instructor and visit their shop, look at the mounts and talk.

Look into it more

This response submitted by Randy L. on 1/5/05 at 9:42 PM. ( ) 69.40.150.21