customer contract/customer policy

Submitted by Brian on 2/1/05 at 3:14 PM. ( sirporkalot2003@yahoo.com ) 66.181.128.26

I'm just starting out in the taxidermy business,and I was wondering if it is custmary to have a contract between the business and customers,or,is a general policy good enough.Also if someone had a copy of each I could look over and/or modify.

Return to The Taxidermy Industry Category Menu

A Must

This response submitted by Steve D on 2/1/05 at 4:18 PM. ( aaa_taxidermy@yahoo.com ) 64.223.209.226

If you don't have one you're just opening yourself up for problems. Even people you know are going to take advantage of you and without the contract you stand to lose the shirt off your back. Every one has a different idea of what should be on a contract and you will have (I would think) allot of people come forward and offer there's to look at, I've redone mine probably a dozen times in the last 10 years and im redoing it again now. Take all anyone will offer and make your own using ideas from the others. Just make sure it says something about a 50% NON refundable deposit and how long you will store it after it is done and what you will and wont be responsible for i.e.; freezer failure, hide slippage due to prior handling, tannery problems, ect and these are only a few of the things it needs to mention. And one last note make it fair, offer (if something does happen) to bite the bullet and replace whatever it is and do it again, you might make a good customer, and friend but at the very least people will get a good image of you and your business and it SHOULD get you more customers.

Brian

This response submitted by Steve D on 2/1/05 at 4:51 PM. ( aaa_taxidermy@yahoo.com ) 64.223.209.226