When is it time to throw in the towel

Submitted by Teto on 4/12/05 at 8:41 AM. ( Teto@freeway.net ) 66.227.255.226

I've been doing taxidermy now for 5 1/2 years. I have a full time day job and do taxidermy in the evenings. So basically for the last 5 years I've putting in no less then 65+ hours a week working. I'm tired, crabby and sick of customers!

I can't seem to make any money at it. I don't collect a pay check for my time out of my business. I make enough to pay the bills in the shop and the few helpers I have. My prices are pretty close to everyone else in my area.

I am so frustrated right now that I just want out and I want out now!

I have about 80 jobs to do right now (Deer, small mammals and fish). What do I do about these?

Please give any advise you may have.

Thanks for listening.

Return to The Taxidermy Industry Category Menu

Solution

This response submitted by grumpa on 4/12/05 at 9:05 AM. ( ) 64.12.116.135

Give them back along with any deposit money they've given you. Your health and sanity aren't worth it. And wear and tear to your family aren't worth it either. A person only gets one shot at this life and doesn't get a second chance to do it over. Losing your family or health [mental or physical] is too high a price to pay for the "glory" of being a taxidermist. Taxidermy is fun, the taxidermy business sucks. Take it from somebody who knows.

Not Ever !

This response submitted by J J on 4/12/05 at 9:30 AM. ( sinclairsjj@aol.com ) 152.163.100.135