Show favortism

Submitted by dave h on 4/21/05 at 12:18 PM. ( daveh@whirlawaycorporation.com ) 68.249.226.167

A question for you old timers. How often do you think that mounts get high scores because of who's they are not how they are? I am new to the shows and was recently at a show where the scores didn't match the mounts very well. I am not a judge and don't claim to be an expert but i have done allot of research and asking questions and have learned a lot. I just can't make sense out of what i saw. I was really disapponited and at this point am wondering if it's even worth going to them. I am looking for some honest input, i am not trying to bash anyone.

Return to The Taxidermy Industry Category Menu

they are as honest,.........

This response submitted by Randal R. Waites on 4/21/05 at 12:23 PM. ( rwenglish1@aol.com ) 205.188.116.198

They are as honest as humanly possible.

best

This response submitted by lee on 4/21/05 at 1:12 PM. ( ) 68.238.143.237

best to let the judges be the judges, and not worry about it.

My two cents

This response submitted by Joe V. on 4/21/05 at 1:34 PM. ( ) 216.203.7.84

My exoerience is that if you ask 10 people what they like best you will have 10 different answers. The reson you should compete is not to win but to constantly learn. Winning should be an added bonus. If you love taxidermy and you like the idea of being the best you can be then compete. As for favoritizm do you have favorite people in your life? The judges will too. That is why theoredicaly the mounts should remain annonomouse until after the votes have been tallied. Like I said just compete to learn and the winning will come later provided you have listened observed and learned.

Best of luck.

Lee

This response submitted by Kim on 4/21/05 at 1:55 PM. ( ) 69.171.240.121

Lee,

So, nobody should ask questions? Just sit back and be quiet?

Judges

This response submitted by KBauman on 4/21/05 at 2:07 PM. ( ) 68.92.225.73