Ammo to fight the Bunny Huggers!

Submitted by Sarah on 4/30/05 at 4:05 PM. ( ) 70.178.74.104

So those who claim they dont use animal by-products, understand that the main ingrediant in most soap that helps soften skin is glycerine as does most skin lotions,

85% of the glycerine we use is from animal by products, it is hydroscopic in nature. Meaning it absorbs water.

Now who here does not or has not used shampoo, shaving gels, or lotion?

Glycerin/Glycerine;
A colorless sweet thick oily liquid which is obtained from animal or vegetable fats and oils. Used in making explosives and medicines and for sweetening foods. In spite of its sweetness glycerine is not a sugar.

Chewing gum;
Often contain glycerine.

Gelatin/Gelatine;
A thickening, stabilising, emulsifying agent made by boiling animal skin, ligaments, bones, sinews or other connective tissue, cattle, equine and swine. Alternatives include Agar Agar, Carrageen and Gelozone.

Bone;
Used in bone china and cutlery handles, bone meal for fertilizer.

Cochineal E120;
made from crushed insects.

Casein;
The protein derived from milk.

Capsules (for meds;
Usually made from gelatine

E Numbers;
European food additives numbering system, not all vegetarian.

Emulsifier;
An ingredient used in many food products to facilitate the mixing of liquids that would otherwise not mix (e.g. oil and water).

Fast Food;
Watch out for Bean/Vegetable burgers being cooked with fish/chicken/meat by products

Felt;
Made from wool or fur. Felt is usually made from wool, but it can be made from fur. You should be careful buying a felt hat as it may be either. Rabbit skin is often the source of fur for felt hats. Some is acrylic. but the better grades are animal by-products.

Flour;
Some commercial flours are treated with treatment agent 920 (L-Cysteine) which can be extracted from duck and chicken feathers. It is used as a 'dough improver' or 'bread improver'. The L-Cysteine is added to the ingredients during the mixing process prior to baking. During mixing, it reacts with a protein in wheat. As the original L-Cysteine amino acid is not present in the final product, by law there is no requirement to list it as an ingredient.

Isinglass;
A fining agent derived from the swim bladders of certain fish, especially the Chinese sturgeon. Used in the production of most beers and wines.

Jelly;
Usually contains gelatine.

Lanolin;
A waxy grease from sheep's wool.

Lecithin;
An emulsifier (which allows water & oils to mix); it is mostly derived from soy beans, seeds, peanuts and maize. Although it may be derived from eggs, in this form it is usually declared as ‘egg yolk' on food packaging.

Orange drink;
use gelatine as a carrier for added Beta Caratine. (This would not appear on the ingredients panel

Margarines;
May contain animal fats, fish oils, vitamin D3, E numbers, whey, gelatine.

Musk;
Extracted from the genitals of musk deer, musk rats, civet, skunk and beavers by a cruel and painful process, normally trapped using leg hold traps. Used in perfumery and as a flavoring.

Pastry;
Some pastries contain animal fat, all contain FLOUR. (see above)

PEG 120 (Methyl Glucose Dioleate);
Used in some cosmetics/toiletries. Derived from fish oil.

PPG 20 (Methyl Glucose Ether);
Used in some cosmetics/toiletries. Derived from fish oil.

PEG (Oleyl Alcohol);
Used in some cosmetics/toiletries. Derived from fish oil.

Pepsin;
Enzyme from a pig's stomach, used like rennet.

Photography;
All photographic film uses gelatine.
Fuji laboratories are investigating non-animal alternatives. They have so far been able to supplement a proportion of the animal based gelatine with a seaweed-based gelatine, but have not been able to yet develop a totally animal free gelatine which does not compromise the quality of their film.

Rennet;
An enzyme taken from the stomach of killed calves and used in the cheese making process as a coagulation agent. There are many non-animal rennet cheeses available - ask at your local health food shop. These cheeses use microbial or fungal enzymes instead.

Saddle soap;
Glycerine and calcium stearate or stearic acid

Toothpaste;
Many brands contain glycerine, stearates

Calcium stearate;
Mineral typically derived from cows or hogs.

Capric acid (decanoic acid);
Animal fats

Clarifying agents;
Derived from any number of animal sources. Used to filter wine, vinegar, beer, fruit juice, soft drinks.

Glycerides (mono-, di-, and triglycerides;
Glycerol from animal fats or plants. Processed foods, cosmetics, perfumes, lotions, inks, glues, automobile antifreeze. Used as emulsifier.

Lactylic stearate;
Salt of stearic acid (see stearic acid below). Dough conditioner.

Myristic acid (tetradecanoic acid) ;
Animal fats. Chocolate, ice cream, candy, jelled desserts, baked goods.

Oleic acid (oleinic acid) Animal tallow;
Synthetic butter, cheese, vegetable fats and oils, spice flavoring for baked goods, candy, ice cream, beverages, condiments, soaps, cosmetics.

Palmatic acid;
Animal or vegetable fats. Baked goods, butter and cheese flavoring.

Vitamin A (A1, retinol);
Vitamin obtained from vegetables, egg yolks, or fish liver oil. Vitamin supplements, fortification of foods, "natural" cosmetics.

Vitamin B12;
Vitamin produced by microorganisms and found in all animal products.

Vitamin D (D1, D2, D3) D1 is produced by humans upon exposure to sunlight; D2 (ergocalciferol) is made from plants or yeast, D3 (cholecalciferol comes from fish liver oils or lanolin Supplements or fortified foods. D3 is derived from lanolin from sheeps' wool therefore only D3 which is guaranteed sourced from wool sheared from live sheep is considered acceptable

Washing powder;
Soap based powders may contain animal fats.

I hope this list will help you in defending our hobbie, art, craft and livelyhood from those who would try to close us down. These products listed are directly cut and pasted from VEGIAN WEB SITES.

Return to The Taxidermy Industry Category Menu


Return to The Taxidermy Industry Category Menu