buisness

Submitted by brandon on 7/30/06 at 5:57 PM. ( rich_bran_don@yahoo.com ) 71.76.200.70

i'm just getting into taxidermy and love it. so far ive taken classes on life size mammal, fish, and birds. i have not taken the deer head class yet its in the spring. i want to open a shop part time after i finish the school and hopefully turn my side buisness into a full time career. my question is roughly what kind of income can i expect to make in central north carolina, so far ive never really been able to get a good answer for this question?

Return to The Taxidermy Industry Category Menu

Well, if you charge...

This response submitted by Doug on 7/30/06 at 6:43 PM. ( ) 216.223.173.45

$1000.00 a head and get in 100 head you will be doing OK! You need to get a feel for what you are getting in as of right now...no one can really answer your question

Brandon

This response submitted by Forrest Sue on 7/30/06 at 9:05 PM. ( ) 76.0.164.128

Don't know your age, or what you are expecting from taxidermy, but you will get out of it what you put in. I love it also, but it don't oay the bills. I work fulltime and do this as I can. I limit how much I take in because I know how much I can do w/o it becoming WORK!

I have two young friends that decided to go to school and learn taxidermy. I say Good for them! Then one of them jumped right in and started his shop. He was in an area that I use to do a lot of work, but I have kind of pulled in my boundaries as I use to pick-up and deliver at no extra charge and that was kind of far away. Now it is too expensive so he was not hurting my business. I had and have enough to keep me parttime busy anyway. But I see he has gone back to farming in the summer and now only does it in the winter. I heard he was good and I hope that is so. I don't know his reasons for changing his plans but he is, also in the lower center of NC. GOOD LUCK!

Without any advertising, other than word