Bobcats vs. Spotted Cats

Submitted by Ms. Chip on 04/19/2004 at 23:11. ( kac36574@yahoo.com ) 209.102.131.35

I am fairly new at taxidermy. I am trying real hard to understand the rules and regulations effecting this new venture. So I had a question about bobcats in the state of Alabama. It is written that I must notify my local game warden within 14 days of receiving one so that it can be tagged. Sounds pretty clear - right ! Well a friend in Georgia had killed 3 last season and asked me if I wanted them for practice and I said sure. Since then a local Alabaman said he had one in his freezer and was looking for a taxidermist -what would I charge,etc. So I called my state taxidermy association president - who suggested I call my local game warden. This is when total confusion sets in--- I was told that they(AL) didn't care about the GA bobcats but if the Alabama bobcat showed up hold on to it and wait until trapping/hunting season opens up and then they can tag it and that bobcats are federally controlled ! So the question is -- are bobcats the same as spotted cats that have federal laws ?

Return to Lifesize Mammal Taxidermy Category Menu

CITES, the cats have to be tagged by the hunter.

This response submitted by John C on 04/19/2004 at 23:37. ( ) 66.233.157.155

When the cat crosses any state line it must be tagged wit the CITES tag, and the hunter/trapper must be the one who tags it.

Many states require all in state cats to also be tagged.

Some states dont, thats what you need to check.

Since the CITES is Federal it make the untagged cat crossing any state line and LACEY ACT VIOLATION.

Most states allow a period of time after the close of season to get remaining cats skins tagged.

While I dont advocate violating laws, sometimes is better to just shut up.

More Confusion

This response submitted by Ms. Chip on 04/20/2004 at 07:31. ( ) 209.102.128.202

OK.. I read up on the Lacey Act and now I am more confused.