Was I wrong...

Submitted by Gary on 2/16/05 at 8:23 PM. ( sandstonejunkie@yahoo.com ) 207.69.138.141

I went to a guys house to pick up a bobcat, I've done a few mounts for him and he he had been wanting me to stop by and see the taxidermy room he has accumulated,I figured I would compare my work to some of the others he has. I've only been working on taxi. in my spare time for the last few years and figured I could learn a few things, He has 20-25 animals mounted, most looked nice but two of the bobcats he has looks awful, one pupil crooked, one eye higher than the other,and looks like they have been hit in the face with a sledgehammer, noses are painted black with a mist of flesh(very small mist), mouth work is all black, too many things for me to mention and I'm only a novice, he asked me my opinion of them and I told him that the detail work was awful. These mounts were done a prof. taxidermist that has been around for over 25-30 years, I learned that I have nothing to worry about on my work, I know it isn't perfect but I am learning with each mount that I finish. Would any of you out there have told the man the truth or just said it's nice?

Return to Lifesize Mammal Taxidermy Category Menu

Tell him the truth

This response submitted by Jim on 2/16/05 at 8:35 PM. ( ) 148.78.243.51

It's better that you told him the truth then lied to him. Because now he knows what he did wrong and in the future he will probably try to correct the mistakes he made.

I've been asked that question often

This response submitted by George on 2/16/05 at 8:39 PM. ( georoof@aol.com ) 64.12.116.133

I always ask two questions first. Question 1: Why would you ask ME to look at it? and Question 2: Are you happy with the way it looks?