Thawing frozen bear

Submitted by Asher on 2/18/05 at 11:08 AM. ( asherdym@charter.net ) 68.116.62.142

I have a black bear in the freezer and after looking through the archives I have seen some peopl thaw them by just leaving them out for 18hrs to 3 days, some people hang them up and put a fan on them, some people use lysol and soak them ... and so on. Some of these posts in the archives go back as far as 2000. I have heard that lysol isn't as it used to be so it is not effective in preventing bacteria growth. Any current solutions for faster thawing? Could I thaw in water and stop-rot mixture. This is my first attempt at a bear any advice is appreciated.

Return to Lifesize Mammal Taxidermy Category Menu

Are we assuming..

This response submitted by tomdes on 2/18/05 at 11:33 AM. ( mapletax@twcny.rr.com ) 148.183.241.22

it's green or is it tanned? If it's green, then 24 hrs might be more like it, don't thaw in a real warm area, keep it cool. You could do it in a fridge, but that would take 3 days would be my guess...

I'm sorry ...

This response submitted by Asher on 2/18/05 at 11:35 AM. ( ) 68.116.62.142

Yes it it frozen green with the skull still in.

No need for special treatment

This response submitted by juli on 2/18/05 at 11:44 AM. ( ) 66.58.181.183

Its okay to thaw at room temp - just salt down the skin as you are able to peel it away. THe salt will keep the hide from going sour while allowing the rest of the bear to unthaw.

That makes sense

This response submitted by Asher on 2/18/05 at 11:46 AM. ( ) 68.116.62.142

That's what I do with other small mammals, but I have read since bears take so long to thaw out that the ears and all actually thaw much quicker than the rest of the body exposing these areas to bacteria before the rest can be dealt with.

Asher

This response submitted by Jim B on 2/18/05 at 11:50 AM. ( ) 152.163.100.133