Brushing fur after tanning

Submitted by Lynda C on 1/14/06 at 1:21 PM. ( tony.lynda@gmail.com ) 130.208.227.151

Hi! First, I did check the archives before posting... I am a beginner, currently residing in Iceland, and have had a wonderful opportunity to get some Arctic and grey fox hides to tan (and maybe some more tonight, if my friend was lucky). I've done three so far, with good results. I bought a good wire brush for long haired dogs, but Im wondering, should I expect some hair to come out when I'm brushing? I'm getting about as much as I would expect from brushing a live animal. I brush thoroughly, but not vigorously. How do you guys do it, and do you lose some hair in this process? By the way, I do not have access to books and videos on tanning, and if I order them, the price will about double after customs, duties and taxes! I have already gotten alot of very helpful info from this forum, but I probably won't be able to respond for several days, as this computer is 20 minutes (1 way) from home. Thanks in advance!

Return to Lifesize Mammal Taxidermy Category Menu

Oops!

This response submitted by Lynda C. on 1/14/06 at 1:26 PM. ( ) 130.208.227.151

Darn beginners...Sorry; I posted in the wrong category! Should have been tanning, but of course, you guys know about this, too.

Lynda

This response submitted by AndyO on 1/14/06 at 1:31 PM. ( ajossola@yahoo.com ) 68.250.194.188

Perfectly normal to have hair come out when brushing-- as long as it's not in big clumps. Where are you located? I have a friend who lives near Naval Air Station Keflavik.

AndyO

This response submitted by Lynda C on 1/14/06 at 1:39 PM. ( ) 130.208.227.151

Andy,

Thanks. Do you brush only with the lay of the fur, or also back brush, for volume?

I live up north, in a village across the fjord from Akureyri, second largest city in Iceland; easy to find on a map. Is your friend Icelandic, or "imported", like me (I'm a Canadian)?

Either way