bear frozen 13 years

Submitted by Randall on 1/20/06 at 10:18 PM. ( dykesrj@comcast.net ) 68.62.255.49

Hello all,First I would like to thank all who contribute to this site.I have found it invaluable to my continuing education it the taxidermy arts.Today I recieved a whole unskinned black bear that has been frozen unwrapped for 13 years.the bear is obviously freezer burnt (dried)and after 10 hours out of freezer I am seeing little thawing the bear was given to me for practice as I am still learning (3 years)Could i cut it in half and soak in stop rot solution to thaw and rehydrate ,or should I babysit it and skin as I can? This is a beutiful 300 pounder and I really want to try to save it .Does any one have any suggestions for me other than throw it out. the hair is tight and other than the bear smell has no oder.Thanks in advance to any or all who can help

Return to Lifesize Mammal Taxidermy Category Menu

Alcovy River Artworks

This response submitted by Alcovy River Artworks on 1/20/06 at 10:30 PM. ( rogerchrisann@bellsouth.net ) 68.155.165.107

A 300pound black bear is hard to come by. Just have to ask way it was in the freezer for 13 years. Forzen whole?

Try to save it if you can, The hide and skull need to be saved. The claws are also of value.
How do you plan to mount this?

What do you want to do with it after you get it skinned?

Stop rot is worth a try. You have to find a safe way to rehydrate the skin. I would use stop-rot or something like it. You need to keep the hide moist and cool at all times. Heat will destroy it.
You need to tan the hide of a bear. They have lots of fat and you need to flesh the hide good and salt it down.

I would ask the experts how to care for this one, 13 years is a long time. Yes it can be done. It might be better for a rug if the skin is bad. ?

frozen bear

This response submitted by Randall on 1/20/06 at 10:45 PM. ( ) 68.62.255.49