Bear Feet

Submitted by Dan on 10/10/99. ( williamslmt@home.comI ) 24.4.254.138

I have been doing taxidermy for about two years now, and finally got my first black bear. The customer did everything just fine but I am not sure how to finish skinning out the feet. He cut right down to the pad area and stopped, do I cut thru the pad or just turn it inside out and remove all the bone and flesh I can then send it to the tannery. I know even if I do cut the pad I still have to remove all the bone and meat I just want to do it right.
Thanks for any help you can give me. Dan
Also should I wash all the blood out of the hair befor it goes to the tannery. Dan

Return to Category Menu

bear feet

This response submitted by Doug on 10/11/99. ( mikey220@excitemail.com ) 192.195.167.3

Dan,pending if it`s going to be a rug you don`t want the pad anyway ,so just skin foot out minus pad,then when you get to the toes,skin them out "inside out" skinning to the last knuckle or the tannery will charge you extra for skinning.If it is to be a full mount,split the pad down the center and proceed to skin out.After mount is dried,an epoxy can be used to hide the cut and stitching quite nicely.As for washing the blood out,I would`nt waste my time,the tannery does all that at no extra cost!

DO NOT SPLIT THE PAD DOWN THE CENTER!

This response submitted by John Bellucci on 10/11/99. ( ArtistExpr@aol.com ) 171.216.167.200

Dan,

Except for splitting the pad down the center, you got some good info there. Instead of going that route, an even better choice is to skin AROUND the pad, on the inner side of the foot. Leave enough skin attached to the pad to make sewing it back together easier. It can be tough to sew the foot pad itself back together ... it does not stretch and can be downright "brittle".