mistake with antifreeze

Submitted by mike rains on 04/27/2004 at 08:34. ( teresa@kenmhealy.com ) 68.203.210.252

i recently skinned a 74'' texas diamondback and was told to soak in antifreeze for 3-4 days and then to cover in borax for a day or so. after finding your website i realize i probably made a mistake since i've already done this.i realize this is a part of the preservation process and has nothing to do with tanning. my question is what should i do now that i've done this, the skin is still stretched out on a board with the borax still covering it. is it too late to correct my mistake. this is my first attempt at preservation/tanning and took the advice of the first person i asked so this is why im in the position im in. would greatly appreciate any help in this situation

Return to Reptile Taxidermy Category Menu

glycerin

This response submitted by Dean on 04/27/2004 at 09:27. ( ) 67.4.163.52

A tannery told me that reptiles can be tanned in antifreeze because of the glycerin in it. Glycerin is what reptile tan is mainly made with. You should be fine. The glycerin in it will make it soft and flexable.

Dean, that's MIS information

This response submitted by George on 04/27/2004 at 10:18. ( georoof@aol.com ) 152.163.252.103

Maybe you should visit the archives and see just what bullsh1t that is. Glycerin in NOT A TAN in any form. It is fat extract used in everything from soap to dynamite. It simply softens a hide because it's oily. Ethylene glycol is antifreeze and the alcohol portion MAY do some preservation work, but it's hardly a "tan" and the "glycol" portion is your glycerine at work again as a lubricant.

I find it hard to believe any reputable tannery would tell anyone such crap. There IS a snake tan out there on the market and if you look at the ingredients involved, you WON'T find antifreeze or glycerine involved in the process.

YUP

This response submitted by wetnwild on 04/27/2004 at 14:17. ( ) 24.128.109.191