Tanning a bear hide

Submitted by Tom Cooper on 9/25/00. ( tcooper@iquest.net ) 40.0.40.10

I am just getting started in taxidermy. I mounted three deer heads last season using John Rinehart's tanning cream to tan the hides. I am now starting on my first bear hide. I plan on doing a closed mouth, full body walking mount.

I have viewed John Rinehart's training video on tanning hides and they only talked about salting the hide, fleshing and then using their tanning cream to tan the hide. However this past week I ordered some Tannery Degreaser for my bear hide and the instructions were to add the degreaser to a Citric Acid pickling solution and soak the hide in the solution for 4 days.

Question: Should I soak my hides in a pickle solution? What are the advantages or disadvantages? Does anyone have any special bear hide tanning instructions?

Return to Category Menu

Bears

This response submitted by George Roof on 9/25/00. ( georoof@aol.com ) 205.188.209.203

Tom,
I'll just blurt this out since I'm told I'm "common" anyway, but taking on a bear is a tough stint for someone just starting out. I use JRTS and I don't pickle, but I don't do bear hides with it either. I love the stuff and it meets all my needs for deer. Bears are a VERY thin skinned,greasy animal that I feel are best left to professional tanneries or folks who've traveled that road for some time. If this is just a "play" mount and losing it is of no concern, then go for it. I'd still use another tanning solution rather than JRTS.

Bear tanning

This response submitted by MarkV. on 9/25/00. ( fishspec30@centurytel.net ) 207.230.196.159