Hide shrinking and Kemel4 question

Submitted by Lonewolf50 on 1/21/02. ( ) 198.111.146.140

I have been tanning at home for 3 years now. I cape turn the lips,eyes, and ears , then salt a couple hours shake it out salt for another 4 or so hours then shake it out and salt over night. I then use a Safty acide pickle PH of 1 1lbs. salt per gallon of water . after 3 days or so I take the hide out hang it about 1 hr. then roll it up in towels for about 1 hr. then I shave it . I have a shaving Machine I'm not real good with it but I try to shave until I see a bluish color. my shaving probably not real even but its definatly thined alot. then I put it back in the pickle over night nuterlize it then use Liquid-Tan . I am getting alot of shrinkage. I have just started using Kemel-4 in my pickle so I don't know if that will help yet or not . My most recent cape is a huge #240 dressed ontario buck . When I got the cape I was told is was 28" around the neck over the hair . the nose is 8 3/4" eye to nose. I couldn't measure it as I was given only the cape . but I can say of the 30 or so I've handled it's huge. I'm doing a tube mount on it after pickleing it and shaving it very thin I'm measuring 21" behind the ears. I have seen the pics. of this deer it looked like a herford bull. The neck on the cape appears very long . I can't beleive its only 21" . on most my other capes I am losing 1-1 1/2 " 0n the neck. any suggestions ? my next question is can I use Kemel-4 in my pre mount rinse ? thanks to all ........K

Return to Tanning Category Menu

Should have got the measurements

This response submitted by Chad on 1/21/02. ( w_chad@hotmail.com ) 65.194.129.135