What's the difference between "tanning" and "curing"

Submitted by Kristi on 5/30/02. ( kristi.fuller@aa.com ) 144.9.158.85

I'm just curious...I think I understand the properties of a "tanned" hide, but what exactly is a "cured" hide? Is it just that a "tanned" hide has better longevity than a "cured" hide, but the effects are temporarily the same? I was a cook before a taxidermist, and when I buy a "cured" ham, I still have to cook it. So does that mean that it's still raw? I just like to understand what I'm doing as I complete each step of the tanning process... call me a nerd. ;-)

Return to Tanning Category Menu

cured not tanned

This response submitted by jim marsico on 5/30/02. ( ) 209.193.81.105

The terminology may be different in different parts of the country but I think of a cured hide as untanned and only fleshed and salted and dried out.

Tanning vs Curing

This response submitted by Steve Rotramel on 5/30/02. ( steve@automatictanner.com ) 208.235.33.140

Glad you asked.

A fresh wet hide is about 68% water, and 29% structural protein. The rest is fat and non-structural proteins (keratin 1% to 2%, albumin and globulin). That keratin (hair & epidermis) percentage will of course vary with the type of hide.

The structure of a hide consists of collagen fiber bundles that are grouped together and interwoven with each other. The fibers form a network by continually branching off and tieing in with other perpendicular bundles. Each twisted fiber is made of "fibrils" that are rod like in appearance, and for reference would be about as big around as a pencil if blown up to one meter long.

When a raw hide dries, the fibers collapse onto each other and "glue" together, especially in the presence of heat. The hide becomes "brittle and horny", not useful for much except chew-toy.