Auto tanner process

Submitted by Kevin on 6/12/02. ( kevin@maveng.com ) 65.66.234.121

I'm new to tanning, and am not getting the results I expected from my auto tanner. I did search the archives before I posted this and didn't find the answers that I needed.
The first items that I tanned were some sheep back halves. Everything seemed to be going good. I used warm water, I weighed the crystals, added the oil set the timer and waited. The hides felt nasty and oily when I got them out. I remembered reading about washing with Dawn to cut the oil in the hide. The dawn got them a little cleaner, but not totally greaseless. Now after sitting in my shop for a week, they dried like overfried bacon.
Is this the right order when using a degreaser?
Flesh - Tan for an hour - thin - degrease - Tan for 2 more hours

I've read that the hides should be dry or green, but not soaked when you put them in the tanner. The hides that I used were salted and dried. To clean them up a little, I soaked them and cleaned the hair before I put them in the tanner. Should I have let them dry out again before I tanned them?

Another cape that I tanned had a very large amount of shrinkage. I thought it was because I left it in the tanner for 6 hours. I also read that sometimes it takes longer to tan thicker hides. This one was somewhat thick. After I finally got the mannakin shaved down (in the neck) enough and got it sewn up, while it was drying, it had a slightly foul smell to it.

Am I missing something. I thought I read the instructions good, but I had to have missed something. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Kevin

Return to Tanning Category Menu

Your missing something, somewhere along the line.

This response submitted by John C on 6/12/02. ( ) 64.216.172.25

Auto-Tanned hides normally let out or relax.

The problems with a cape are normally not fleshing it thin.