Good general purpose tan, capes & hides?

Submitted by Angie on 02/04/2003. ( blueraven@communicomm.com ) 65.197.33.104

I am looking for any ideas on tannig solutions, products, or
recipes to tan small mammels for mounting and maybe some capes,
and also sheep hides. I'm new to tannig and would appreciate
any input.

Return to Tanning Category Menu

OK

This response submitted by Erik on 02/04/2003. ( golfin24_7@hotmail.com ) 209.103.205.139

Im new at this too but I have been looking over these messages for a little while now and I see that the Lutan-F is good to use. A place i've seen it is cabelas, and Van Dykestaxidermy.com i think it is. In cabelas it comes with a kit, so it has the acid and stuff you need. Hoped I helped.

RTF say's

This response submitted by RTF on 02/05/2003. ( nysp_2003@hotmail.com ) 216.238.61.8

In this post I am going to teach you on how you can do your own tanning at home, factory style. Now first of all, you will not get the results that the factory gets. Machines are used on the break in process and that is what gets the hide so soft. Rest assure though you will be satisfied with the results your going to get. Here is the supply list, the stuff you will need in order to tan a hide.
1) water
2) salt
3) fleshing knife
4) 30 gallon rubber garbage can or storage bin
5) pickling crystals
6) Lutan F tanning agent
7) rubber gloves heavy duty elbow length
8) disposable suregical latex gloves
9) saftey glasses/goggles
10) dust mask
11) rubber smock/aprin
12) fleshing beam
13) ph litmus test paper
Seems like a lot ? It really isn't and you probably have most of the stuff already. For the tanning chemicals you can get them at Van Dykes or at WASCO .