What are the main steps to tan boar hair on skin?

Submitted by Gio on 10/29/2003. ( ) 206.181.220.5

I have search all over this sight and found much info. Archives don't work for me all I get is oooooxxoooxoooxoo like that. I have found out allot. This is my first time doing a skin.

I have a two wild hog skins one stretched and covered with pickling salt and the other salted and rolled in the freezer from last year, which my 15 year old shot. His first kill and I would like to make a nice wall rug to include nose and ears. Moneys tight and I would like to take on the task. My buddy gave me a 4 point dear head for me to practice. I ordered Vandyke"s Mount kit.
I bought the Vandyke"s Potassium Alum tanning kit. I am unsure if it comes with instructions. I am also unsure about the different methods and chemicals which is the best and or best for the beginner.
I am looking up stuff but if anyone can help with info.
So far I"ve found out these steps if their right
1 salt clean salt again
2 soak in salt solution (brine) re-hydrate
degrase
3 Flesh
4 Pickle need (formula?)
5 ?
6 ?
7 ?
Please help fill in the blanks
Thanks It's probably already been answered but I could not find
Email Giovac@miamidade.gov

Return to Tanning Category Menu

hooked on phonics

This response submitted by otto on 10/29/2003. ( toto_hottie@hotmail.com ) 198.110.112.254

You ere reilly tupid. I fink you ned 2 gat a live.

Here we go with the spelling/typing criticisms again

This response submitted by Lonestar on 10/29/2003. ( ) 152.1.77.151

We are here to help. The spelling does not matter, the content does.
Gio, there are several books that spell out (no pun intended) the tanning process for you. There are also several methods that will work. A boar hide will cost around 35 to 65 dollars to commercially tan. You will spend that and more to try and do it yourself. (If money is the only object here.) Pride in doing it yourself will give back some of that value.

Good Luck,

Lonestar