Having trouble mounting wet tanned hides - shrinking?

Submitted by Russ J on 03/01/2004 at 15:18. ( russ@realistictaxidermy.com ) 65.170.168.3

I have recently started wet tanning my capes using EZ-100. I love the process and they way the capes turn out. However, I have ran into a problem that I havent found much info on. After oiling and sweating the capes, I re-froze them until time to mount. I pulled the first one out of the freezer allowed it to thaw and tried to test fit it on the mannikin. No doing! I tried with another one as well and ran into the same thing. Now I know the mannikins are the right size, I have been mounting using DP for 3 years with no probs but I really want to be able to offer a better product to my customers so I started wet tanning them.

Is is normal for the capes to shrink during the tanning process? is there a way to stretch them prior to mounting so I can get the cape down over the neck? I use the short Y incision if it matters.

Thanks!

Return to Tanning Category Menu

Whats the better product?

This response submitted by john on 03/01/2004 at 17:19. ( ) 4.10.189.63

I went back to DP.

Here we go again...

This response submitted by Hogger on 03/02/2004 at 04:35. ( ) 4.7.211.157

DP is the stuff they used to mount dinosuars. Truth is, since you come from a DP background you would be surprsied by shrinkage. I'm not so sure if you are actually having shrinkage or if you are experiencing a lost of stretch. It's hard to get as much stretch out of a tanned hide as with a cape treated with DP. A DP cape is still a "raw" cape with all the joys that come with a raw cape like stretch... as well as eventual bug problems, dry cracking hides, etc... Here comes the missles! Duck!

I am trying to get away from DP altogether but....

This response submitted by Russ J on 03/02/2004 at 10:26. ( russ@realistictaxidermy.com ) 65.170.168.3