Bill Yox - Question about McKenzie Tan

Submitted by John H on 03/02/2004 at 15:53. ( ) 68.119.251.134

I have read through the archives about McKenzie Tan, and I even saw you in the catalog. For this reason I am asking you my questions about the tan. Are there any other steps that you recommend doing that they did not put in the catalog? And how many hides can I tan with Pint, Quart, etc.? Also someone tried to tell me that I did have to use the Saftee Acid is this true? The person who told me this is an old retired taxidermist. He said that I could the pickle step, just soak for 12 hours in salt-water, flesh, and soak again for 12 hours in salt-water then put on the liquid tan. I was wondering what you thought of this. I am new to the business and I have only used Dry Preservative and want to start tanning. Your help would be greatly appreciated.

Return to Tanning Category Menu

Correction

This response submitted by John H on 03/02/2004 at 15:55. ( ) 68.119.251.134

Also someone tried to tell me that I did not have to use the Saftee Acid is this true? - Correction for my question. Sorry

Corrected Question - Sorry

This response submitted by John H on 03/02/2004 at 15:56. ( ) 68.119.251.134

I have read through the archives about McKenzie Tan, and I even saw you in the catalog. For this reason I am asking you my questions about the tan. Are there any other steps that you recommend doing that they did not put in the catalog? And how many hides can I tan with Pint, Quart, etc.? Also someone tried to tell me that I did not have to use the Saftee Acid is this true? The person who told me this is an old retired taxidermist. He said that I could skip the pickle step, just soak for 12 hours in salt-water, flesh, and soak again for 12 hours in salt-water then put on the liquid tan. I was wondering what you thought of this. I am new to the business and I have only used Dry Preservative and want to start tanning. Your help would be greatly appreciated.

Contact McKenzie