chemical for tanning hides

Submitted by marcus on 04/26/2004 at 08:33. ( ) 68.2.201.44

can you use p-benzoquinone for tanning a hide.
if so how would i do it. i am a photographer,
and this is used as an oxidizing agent in developing film.
My friend told me that it is used in tanning hides.
I didn't believe him, so here I am asking for the truth.

Return to Tanning Category Menu

Probably could

This response submitted by cyclone on 04/27/2004 at 15:27. ( ) 129.43.43.200

It contains the double bond to oxygen (the qinone) which would act as the linking agent between the proteins. It should work much the same as formaldehyde. I don't know any secret formulas (trade formulas) so I can't say if anyone uses it or not. However, it is quite toxic as you can gather from the MSDS.

Synonyms: 2,5-Cyclohexadiene-1,4-dione; Quinone; p-Benzoquinone solution; 1,4-benzoquinone Quinone; Benzoquinone; 90%; p-Benzoquinone 98+ % (dried); p-Benzoquinone
Molecular Formula: C6H4O2
Formula Weight: 108.09
Registry number: 106-51-4

Registry number: 106-51-4
Density: 1.31
Melting point: 112-116 °C
Flash point: 180 °C

Hazard Symbol
T Toxic
N Dangerous for the environment

Risk Description
R23/25 Toxic by inhalation and if swallowed.
R36/37/38 Irritating to eyes, respiratory system and skin.
R50 Very toxic to aquatic organisms.

Safety Description
S26 In case of contact with eyes, rinse immediately with plenty of water and seek medical advice.
S28A After contact with skin, wash immediately with plenty of water.
S45 In case of accident of if you feel unwell, seek medical advice immediately (show the label where possible).
S61 Avoid release to the environment. Refer to special instructions / Safety data sheets.

IR
Analysis Result
Miscellaneous 412 (15.14); 895 (3.37); 941 (11.45); 1082 (10.48); 1306 (7.61); 1363 (24.78); 1588 (8.21); 1647; 3054 (20.14)

Miscellaneous information
Analysis Result
203-405-2