sulfuric acid

Submitted by johnny on 8/8/05 at 11:40 PM. ( johnny_pelt@yahoo.com ) 65.70.251.155

i have read alot here and elsewhere i am new to tanning ihave done five deer hides two bobcats and a otter iused sulfurc acid i havent any problem so for i have read on here not to use why

Return to Tanning Category Menu

how about some punctuation

This response submitted by terryr on 8/9/05 at 12:12 AM. ( ) 12.207.33.102

late at nite i cant think of more than 1 idea at a time

Sulfuric acid

This response submitted by = on 8/9/05 at 8:47 PM. ( ) 216.144.58.74

Sulfuric acid is the same thing as old time battery acid. It is a sure way to "eat your pelts alive". Don't use it. It's not safe, it's not effective, and with hazardous shipping or handling what it is, it's not even cheap. Use something less "iffy", like Saftee Acid.

If you want to home-tan deer skins, why not brain tan? It's cheap! It's not easy, but all you gain is knowledge and beautiful skins, and all you can lose is time and some easy-to-replace skins.

Longevity-too strong

This response submitted by oldshaver on 8/9/05 at 8:50 PM. ( ) 68.221.125.129

Some non-tans in a skin provide a natural protection from the environment. Without this protection, red-rot will occur over time. Sulfuric eats them away. Also it is a pain the rear to neutralize throughly. One more thing, sulfuric and salt will form hydrochloric acid when distilled.(remove water) Milder acids are much more suited for tanning purposes.

Geez, guys, when did all this happen?

This response submitted by George on 8/9/05 at 9:32 PM. ( georoof@aol.com ) 205.188.116.12