Carolina fur dressing

Submitted by Ron on 8/26/05 at 11:14 AM. ( ) 66.155.160.9

To start with I am very happy with the job Caorlina Fur does with their tanning, and I have been using them for 18 years and will not stop using them, however, lately they have been taking too long to get my skins back to me. They say 60 days on some items and everything else 4 to 6 months, thats fine. They used to start counting the time from when they recived the shipment, I was told this by them years ago. Now they tell me they start counting the time when they send the acknowledgement out but that takes quite a while till they send the acknowledgement out so that tacks on additional time to getting the order back. When we call to check on our orders the office girls seems like we are bothering them to check on an order.
Is anyone else having this trouble with them?

Return to Tanning Category Menu

You've led a sheltered life, Ron

This response submitted by George on 8/26/05 at 1:23 PM. ( georoof@aol.com ) 64.12.116.130

Carolina has an ever increasing workload as smaller tanneries fold amd more "taxidermists" come on line. Visit the business sometimes and tell me how you'd react to see thousands and thousands of hides in varying stages of completion and having some nitwit call you and say, "When is my muntjac going to be finished." Then if they tell you, they're held accountable for that being the exact date. Tanneries I've dealt with in the past made no bones about it. "We'll call you, don't call us."

Personally, I wouldn't have their job. I can't imagine being expected to shave one deer cape every 5 minutes or less. I hate having to do one a day, much less than 50 or 60.

Rick told me at the Nationals they're expanding and building bigger facilities and that MAY help your problem,but I don't ever see professional tanning being a 30 day situation for quality work. If you produce quality products, your lead times are just going to suffer.

George