Trapping Raccoons

Submitted by Joe on 10/16/05 at 8:55 PM. ( furrfish@yahoo.com ) 216.105.215.3

Hello friends,

I am new to trapping and thought I would give it a try this winter. I am after raccoon and Rabbit pelts and anything else that looks pretty. I have purchased the EZ 100 Tanning Kit, 1 Qt. Degreasor, 2-Handed Fleshing Knife, and Large Fleshing Board from Mackenzie's supply.

I have also purchased a large raccoon/bobcat/coyote/fox cage from Northern Tool & Equipment, 42" x 15" x 15", and a rabbit trap.

I am assuming that I will need about 10 pounds of salt and some baking soda...will Arm and Hammer work?

Could you also tell me what else as a beginner I would need? Please don't mention extravagant things...because if I can't get them for under $50...there is no point to mention them. I have invested about $200 so far. I will be going to a taxidermy school in northern Wisconsin within the next year. Then I am going to Alaska.

When it comes time to remove the animals from the traps...this is where I am having the problems.

How should I kill the animal without damaging the fur. I may wish to skin the entire animal. I am still pondering this though. I may just cut the head off and not worry about it...but if I ever wanted to mount them...it would be a worry in the future...or a regret. I will consume the meat as well.

1. Rabbit- When I was a boy...lol (30 now) I watched an englishman break a rabbit's neck after having been chased by a ferret/weasel. Is this still the way to do it?

2. Raccoon- I have a 22 rifle...But I dont know where to shoot without damaging the hide? Plus I do not want the animal to suffer. Drowning and gassing are not an option for me...neither is strangulation. I am not about to grab the animal while it is alive either.

Please help.

Also, can anyone refer a good book about raccon taxidermy for me and everyone else that reads this post.