WHAT TO DO NOW. I NEED SOME HELP PLEASE.

Submitted by JOE on 10/19/05 at 4:11 PM. ( J.TOMANIK@RCN.COM ) 207.172.177.164

Well I am new at trapping, I set a line of traps for racoon, fox and coyote. I am having good luck with the racoon traps thats about it. My question is I want to sell the pelts at some point what to you do with them. I skinned them out like you normaly would an animal cut up the belly and down to the elbows, skinned the head turned the ears and lips, but what to you use to preserve the animals hide. Do most of you just salt them and put them on a streacher and tan them I guess i'm a little confused, because tanning costs alot compare to what you get for a pelt. Please help feel free to give some other suggestions too. Thanks Joe

Return to Tanning Category Menu

Well

This response submitted by Doug on 10/19/05 at 4:24 PM. ( ) 64.18.236.115

It depends on what your intended market is. The guys who mount small mammals probably want a DORSAL cut to avoid a lot of sewing. The fur garment trade wants them cased and stretched trapper style. Maybe you ought to consider just skinning them and freezing the skin instead of proceeding with tanning. I don't think you'll find much of a market for skins cut like you did. To preserve any skins(except those atretched and air dried) they should be salted and dried hard. Any the last might be the best. Freeze the animal whole and advertise here. You'll get a little less(shipping whole frozen id costly) but you'll save a lot of time.

If you want to sell them for taxidermists.....

This response submitted by Stephen Trull on 10/19/05 at 4:25 PM. ( stephen.trull@wildlifememories.com ) 66.192.168.52

I would recommend you first of all dorsal skin them. For taxidermy this is much easier as there is less stitches. I trap as well and I have a bucket of Krowtann and another with neutalizer. After skinning, Krowtann'em, bag'em and drop in the freezer.

Stephen Trull
Wildlife Memories
www.wildlifememories.com