Sheeoskin Production

Submitted by Leslie on 3/15/06 at 1:00 PM. ( warmerle@msu.edu ) 69.176.141.62

Hi, I'm a student in a sheep production class and as an assignment I need to make up a sample flock plan (a budget and general production plan). The prof is looking for something original, like a niche marketing, etc. So... I'm thinking about selling the meat through a local market, but having the hides tanned and selling the skins as rugs on my own ("sheepskin" is the correct term right? I'm thinking of a product that still has fleece on it). Problem is, I'm a dairy person and know nothing about wool and the whole tanning process! I've searched the web with little sucess, if someone could point me towards a site or a book I'd really appreciate it. For my budget, what would an average cost for producing (tanning? is that the right word?) the skin- paying someone else to do it, and doing it myself (and is that a feasible option, I know it's an art... how long does it generally take to become a decent artist?!?) Also, what should I figure on selling them for? Does anyone raise sheep for this purpose? What breed do you raise and would Columbia be a good option? So many questions! I'm sorry! But I appreciate your help so very much!
-Leslie

Return to Tanning Category Menu

you're at MSU and come here for advice?

This response submitted by al on 3/15/06 at 1:32 PM. ( ) 207.67.146.28

I suggest doing some checking on campus.

email address

This response submitted by eric on 3/15/06 at 2:52 PM. ( elockhart@fiber-tech.net ) 24.180.200.5

I sent you an email but it came back w/ fatal error's

Your email address seems to be invalid

This response submitted by Tom on 3/15/06 at 4:05 PM. ( tom@nuggetinternational.com ) 70.57.61.188

I also tried to email you but the message came back undeliverable

This response submitted by Leslie on 3/15/06 at 11:05 PM. ( warnerle@msu.edu ) 69.176.141.62