Help on Tanning Deer Cape

Submitted by Tony Donelan on 4/19/06 at 6:24 PM. ( donelan07@hotmail.com ) 66.231.16.169

First of all I am new to taxidermy. I bought a cape to do my first deer mount I salted it and then put it in safette acid. The Ph was right then I rinses and let it dry for 30 min and put it in the EZ tan. I Then added Protal Tanning Oil. I let it hang while I waited for my deer form then I noticed red spots starting and they got worse so I took a skiving knife to it and got the face thinned down and did the whole tanning procedure over and I still have red spots and it smells. What do I do? Is it bacteria? This is my first mount so I know its gonna look like crap but I dont want it stinking on me... I dont have a flesher or shaver. Help please!

Return to Tanning Category Menu

umm. Sounds like red rot.

This response submitted by jrosbor on 4/19/06 at 7:10 PM. ( huntersdream3x@hotmail.com ) 64.73.36.192

It could be mold, iron (rust) or bacteria. What does it smell like? Other than it stinks. Retanning a roten cape doesn't tend to fix anything. If it was blue, Glen would call it "Smurf poo" Did the spots form when the cape was wet, dry, or drying? Sorry need more info. Joe

Sorry, Not red rot!

This response submitted by jrosbor on 4/19/06 at 7:13 PM. ( huntersdream3x@hotmail.com ) 64.73.36.192

Red rot, Acid burn or acid rot. Sounds like mold or bacteria.

Red spots

This response submitted by Tony on 4/19/06 at 7:18 PM. ( ) 66.231.16.169

I dont think it smells now I think it was the turkey legs I was working on. The spots are real small red. I'm not sure when they started. Will they keep multipling and ruin the cape or can it be saved? Will a bath in bactericide stop it or bleach?

Red mold

This response submitted by oldshaver on 4/19/06 at 7:53 PM. ( ) 68.221.76.84

Start over, and re-pickle, or slippage is on the way!

Red Mold

This response submitted by Tony on 4/19/06 at 11:39 PM. ( donelan07@hotmail.com ) 66.231.16.169