Frustrated with greasy hides! De-greasing raw coyotes..

Submitted by R .Lee on 4/21/06 at 9:30 PM. ( Schrecken13@hotmail.com ) 67.72.98.83

I've been tanning hides myself for many years, but there's one thing that is a continual fly in my tanning ointment...fat and grease. Now if it's something I have prepared and fleshed myself it seldom (if ever) is an issue, but not long ago I purchased several raw coyote hides that are loaded with more grease than the greasiest piece of fried chicken you could ever find!

These coyotes had been stretched and dried trapper-style (they are just for craft/wall hanger use and I paid very little for them so I'm not expecting to make silk purses out of sow's ears) and I'm going to tan them soon. I've purchased other air-dried pelts that have had little grease (even raccoons which are often greasy) and I've sucessfully tanned those after being treated with commercial degreasers. But in the past knowing that if all grease is not removed it will make for a poorly tanned and often smelly hide...

So - what do you think is the most fool-proof method to kill the grease in these hides? My usual practice is to wet hides back and at the same time degrease them, but these hides are over the top and I want to be sure it is all out. BTW, the skin sides are fully fleshed but apparently the trapper wasn't keen on scraping grease off...at my disposal now I have a jug of Kemsol degreaser, but should I also go buy a can of acetone and soak them in that before the tan?

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Lee

Return to Tanning Category Menu

Try This

This response submitted by Bill @ Hog Heaven on 4/22/06 at 9:35 AM. ( ) 24.59.215.89

After they are wet back drain well. Then with a dull fleshing knife reflesh actually just milk the grease out .Then degrease as a seperate step before pickling. Have done this with hog capes succesfully.

I like to use...