Best method for dog?

Submitted by Jenny on 5/10/06 at 3:38 PM. ( isomurr@yahoo.com ) 68.179.158.180

Hi, I know this will sound weird but bear with me here. What's the best method for tanning dog hide? I'd like the fur to stay on and create a rug. I'm a novice so I don't know which method would best achieve the results I want. This is not a joke and I'm not hunting down people's dogs. My brother has been taking care of a huge stray he has found. The dog is old and is being treated(unsuccesfully) for kidney failure but has a beautiful, unique. My brother plans on having him euthanized when he gets to sick to eat but since it was never really his dog he doesn't mind if I take the skin. If anyone knows about the meat I'd be willing to try it, too, if the vet says the kidney problems won't foul up the meat too much. Anyway, I'm not too much of a weirdo and this is not a joke. I hope someone has some suggestions.

Return to Tanning Category Menu

D O G

This response submitted by Forrest Sue on 5/10/06 at 4:38 PM. ( ) 76.0.160.117

"If anyone knows about the meat I'd be willing to try it, too, if the vet says the kidney problems won't foul up the meat too much."

Oh MAN Tell me I didn't read that right!?!

What do you want the meat for?

This response submitted by Evelyn on 5/10/06 at 4:39 PM. ( ) 205.188.116.73

you are not planning to eat the dog are you?

On the hide, send it off to a tannery to get it tanned up professionally so it stays soft and subtle.

the hide should tan just as good as a whitetails hide...

This response submitted by John W. on 5/10/06 at 5:13 PM. ( ) 12.215.62.206

You say this question is not a joke,but why in the world would you want to eat a dog?You also will want to check and see if there are any laws or regulations forbidding either action.

Recipes for

This response submitted by Mr.T on 5/10/06 at 5:18 PM. ( ) 64.31.6.118

Slab of lab
Hot Dogs
Hound Dog Pie
Mutt Meatballs
New Yorky Strip
Ground Hound
Lassie under Glassie

GRILL