Is the mini flesher worth the money?

Submitted by Dave on 9/17/99. ( ) 207.230.209.188

I am just getting into whitetail taxidermy and
have seen a lot of ads for the mini-flesher in the
catalogs. Is this tool really a good product and is
it worth the money? Is it really as easy to use as
some make it out to be? I have been fleshing the
capes by hand and it takes forever and is a lot of
work! Any opinions would be appreciated.

Return to Category Menu

Dave, coming from another beginner.....

This response submitted by Tony on 9/17/99. ( tholder85@yahoo.com ) 216.229.223.145

I just bought a mini-flesher and have done two deer with it so far. I have done a raw cape that I used Ben Mear's Spray Tan on and I have used it to thin a pickled cape that I am tanning using Rittel's EZ-100. It is a God-send compared to fleshing with a knife. I still do the delicate fleshing around the nose, lips, etc. with a knife, but as for the rest of the cape, it does a good job. Most people on the forums here will tell you that is does not do the job of a large fleshing machine and they are absolutely correct, but, if you are like me and just starting out, you can't justify or afford to put that kind of money in a large machine. Some people say that you cannot thin a cape with a mini-flesher, but this is not true. You can do it. You have to be very careful using it until you get the hang of it, but once you do it is easy to use.

Is it worth it? It was for me. You will just have to try it and see, but I don't think you will be disappointed with your investment, especially compared to fleshing with a regular knife. I saw one advertised in the For Sale section earlier in the week, you might want to go there and check to see if they still have it. It was priced significantly less than a new one.

Good Luck,
Tony

Dave, coming from another beginner.....

This response submitted by Tony on 9/17/99. ( tholder85@yahoo.com ) 216.229.223.145