Folded Cape vs. Cape Laid Full Out

Submitted by Leanna on 11/30/99. ( scardeer@cornernet.com ) 209.98.65.64

I've been wondering what the benefits and or drawbacks are of folding a salted cape like a blanket to let drain, versus a salted cape hair side down and skin up, completely lain out and not folded at all would be. (Besides the room it takes up!) Does it dry out too quickly that way before it has a chance to drain? Does a folded cape tend to seep out more fluids??? Thanks for your patience!

Return to Category Menu

no fold

This response submitted by Doug on 11/30/99. ( scheibs@ibm.net ) 32.97.136.236

Hi Leanna,
I'm no expert, but here is my 2 cents worth. A folded cape will not
dry out as fast as a laid out cape. The key is to dry the cape as quickly
as possible especially in warm climates. Moistier(sp) will cause bacteria
to grow and inturn cause slippage. Hope this helps.

Doug

Fold like a towel

This response submitted by Todd Buchanan on 11/30/99. ( trigger@indy.net ) 209.183.94.174

I was going back thru the archives yesterday. I came across one From
Bruce Rittel. I believe it said to salt the cape and fold it like a
towel hair to hair, skin to skin but do not roll it

Todd

But why why why?!!!

This response submitted by Leanna on 11/30/99. ( ) 209.98.65.63

I'm wondering about the reasons WHY some fold their skins as opposed to laying them out, is it space reasons or do they tend to DRAIN better that way? Sorry if this is a dorky question. I seem to have a lot of those! I tend to start thinking too deeply on the oddest things.

My Reason

This response submitted by John M. on 11/30/99. ( maddenj@lafargek12.wi.us ) 156.46.77.18

I tan my own hides,and the reason I FOLD and hang them after
salting is so they drain better. Once they are completly dry,
they are hard to bend. So I only need a vat half as big to
rehydrate. Or if you use a tannier, you will need a long box
to ship them.

Good luck

John M.

Salt Flat.....Hang (fold) to Dry