Don't Understand Pickeling

Submitted by John on 3/1/1999. ( payne@pyatt.net )

I have been doing taxidermy for a hobby for a couple of years. I do not understand why pickeling is nessary. Please help me understand. I have used cream tans and dry perservtives on deer capes, it seems like mounts turn out o.k., but I read alot about pickeling. I would appreciate any information.

Thank You

Return to Category Menu

Pickeling

This response submitted by Knoblochs on 3/1/1999. ( knoblochs@worldnet.att.net )

John, Pickeling is an important step in the tanning proceedure,
it serves many purposes to start, you want to have a ph of 2 or 3
it will help set the hair and break down the hide.(12 to 48 hrs) by breaking down the hide it will be a lot easier to shave the hide so
that it will accept a tan better faster and the swabbing oil
oil will penetrate faster. By shaving the hide you will gain
more stretch and a better piece of leather that can turn out
softer.All in all you can go on for days, acids that work are formic,citric,bascal s and many more.Neutralize after pickle for 30 min ph of 4 to 5. rinse well then apply Liqua tan or any other favorite tan.I'm sure you will have many replies on this.If you
would like some information more detailed with pickle formulas
please contact me at Knoblochs 303-666-9045 or knoblochs@worldnet.att.net
Mark

In a Pickle

This response submitted by Backbone on 3/2/1999. ( wildlife@udnet.net )

John,