1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

6th largemouth critique

Discussion in 'Fish Taxidermy' started by Taxidermydude017, Oct 15, 2008.

1. this is the 6th largemouth I've mounted, Any constructive criticsm is welcome

2. rp

rp Member

Hi there

I'm not an expert at all but will try and help.

OK. First of all the pectoral fins look as if it is pulled too far away from the body, try to put it into a more natural position. Study some reference of the position of these fins. The photo isn't too clear and I can't see the fleshtones on it. Try too add ma more fleshtone to them. Again use reference for this.

The photo is problem as I can't really see the colour on ur fish, but ill give it a go. Ur yellow on the belly is a little to prominent try and tone it done by adding pearl or white to give it a more natural look. Also try to highlite some lighter areas on the head.

There seems to be alot of shrinkage on the head, try to use apoxi sculpt to model these areas back. If u don't have Breakthrough's fish finishing manual from Tom Sexton get one. It also has a good paint schedule in it. It's really worth the money.

Reference is very important, just keep studying photos and live fish and keep experimenting.
    Overall a good job keep them coming

3. BIGUN

BIGUN Member

It's flippin awesome!!! Those fins: WOW! I agree 100% with everything rp said. The amount of yellow- I can;t tell if that is painted or if that is the natural dried skin color. If it's the skin color, then maybe either white out SOME of those areas with a transparent off-white before painting, or bleach it lighter before painting, or both. The main area of the head to rebuild it looks like is the lower mandible and underside of the head/throat. Well, looks like the top of the head needs some rebuilding, too. Think full and fleshy- amazing how full a live bass is- they look like they're inflated at times!