1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Dakota pro fleshing machine help....

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by BIGLAWE, Nov 26, 2008.

1. BIGLAWE

BIGLAWE New Member

Hello Guys and Gals,

I'm very new to fleshing machines I have bought a Dakota pro and just seeking advise, my questions are am I going to cut lots of holes or can you set the blade guards to shave thin till you become seasoned with the tool. I have not received mine yet and I sure it comes with a video but I like the great advise I can pull from all the veterans on here, and also is there and videos on the internet to watch someone using a fleshing tool before I get mine in I have only thinned by hand or a mini flesher till this point but I feel they need to be thinner and I don't want to fool with a commercial tannary till i build up my business...

Thanks,
    Sgt. Chris Edmonds

2. Yep you can set the blade guards how ever deep you want to shave. I set mine tapered from about 4mm on the bottom to 1mm on the top, so I can use the lower half to shave thicker areas and the top to do the face and ear details.

3. Richbo

Richbo 2nd place is the first loser!

Good advice Codi. BIGLAWE, don't worry. The machine does come with a video that will show exactly how to use it. I would suggest setting it to shave shallow cuts until you get used to shaving. If you have access to scrap pieces of hide for practice, that would help you learn before doing an actual cape. I love mine,and if you follow the instructions and practice a little, I am sure you will love yours as well! Good Luck!

4. rnviper3

rnviper3 New Member