1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

why go to a school?

Discussion in 'Training' started by steewrestler, Dec 7, 2008.

1. steewrestler

steewrestler Member

call me stupid by why is it that you would go to a school i understand that you would go to be trained but do you have to be certifyed to be a taxidermist or licesened? i am just learning a trying to understand everything. this has been bugging me and wanted to know. thanks for the help.

2. richjb01

richjb01 New Member

IL
    Steewrestler,

I am trying to get into taxidermy also, so I know less then nothing about it, but I do know that you do not have to go to a school. I am not saying that you should or shouldn't, but you don't have to. I have read many posts/replies on here that it is better to get the basics down before you go to a school. That is what I intend on doing. You do have to be licensed, in IL anyway, if you intend on doing this as a business and/or get paid for your services. In IL. the license is $25.00, but varies state to state and is only for non-migratory animals. I went to the IL. Dept. of Natural Resources website and read about the requirements. Opinions vary, many recommend going to school and many don't. Read through prior posts and you will see. I think that it depends on the individual and your desires. Like I said, I know nothing, so take this for what it is worth. You can learn all that you need to know, minus the hands-on training, right here on this site. There are alot of people here willing to help. Good luck to you and I hope that this helps you out.

Rich

3. RoyalOaksRanch

RoyalOaksRanch Royal Oaks Taxidermy- When Quality Counts...

ANY knowledge is a good thing.. though for some a school just isnt an option...

Some have a talent for taxidermy and do fine learning thru books, videos and seminars.. Others may feel a school gives them a good jump start..