1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

smelly Fish mouth

Discussion in 'Fish Taxidermy' started by turkeyjim, Sep 13, 2006.

1. Hi everyone.
    Not sure if I like this new forum, this is my first time here, not good with changes.
    I have a question on a walleye mount I'm working on. It's been drying for over a week and I noticed a smell. After checking it out, I looked down it's throat, it's still wet. I put more borax down the throat hoping it will dry it out. Is this going to be OK, what should I do.
    Jim

2. kbauman

kbauman Active Member

OK
    Shoot a little acetone on it, to help dissipate the remaining moisture. It may be too late. Here is how you avoid this problem. Clean the esophagus and head as clean as possible. Use your preservative of choice. After it is mounted, put a gentle blowing fan in front of the fish. It doesn't have to be right up on it. It just needs a breeze blowing through the mount. This should eliminate your problem on future fish. Good Luck

3. den007

den007 Active Member

I know a German fellow who swears by using a blow dryer. Don't overdo it, but it can get some initial drying done fast if you don't cook it. Clamp it down and see what happens. I do think the acetone or even alcohol will help with bacterial growth. Quick spray then blow dry. Packing the throat with salt might work as well.

4. Thanks guys this is my sixth fish, I'm a newbee at fish but like it so far, this is the biggest walleye I've mounted and haven't had this happen yet all others dryed great, is this something fairly normal on bigger fish. I skin - flesh and soak in borax water solution for a coulpe hours. Then mount.
    Any feed back would be great
    Thank you again Jim

5. fesekula

fesekula Active Member