1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Does this happen often?

Discussion in 'Deer and Gameheads' started by jeclausen, Feb 5, 2009.

1. jeclausen

jeclausen New Member

NoDak
    I am just getting started with taxidermy. I have only mounted one head. I have learned a lot thanks to you all on here though. But my question is this. I took a deer head to a taxidermist two years ago to have mounted. I got the mount back and it looked good. I was/am very happy with it. But I just found out that another guy that was getting trained by the taxidermist is the one who actually mounted my deer. I don't mind and I probably wouldn't have had a problem with it if the taxidermist would have just asked me instead of me finding out two years later that some trainee did my mount. Does this happen often? I would think it would be at least common courtesy to ask the customer. I took my head to him because I liked the quality he does not a trainee. I would think if you were training someone they should have their own specimen to work on or get the ok from the customer.

2. Cole

Cole Amateur Taxidermist

I don't know how often that happens, but I would guess probably not that often. I don't see a problem with it. I have had someone spend a day in my shop for some training and I had him mount one of my customer's deer. I was right there to help, and the quality was the same as any deer mounted in my shop. You chose a taxidermist based on the quality of work that leaves his shop, and he was there when your deer was mounted and according to you the quality of your mount is consistant with others you have seen. If you are as happy with your mount as you claim, then what difference does it make?