1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Was wondering....what was your first mount?

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by Love2Hunt, Feb 8, 2009.

1. Love2Hunt

Love2Hunt New Member

Just generally wondering what people did as their first mount....and whether you just grabbed the bull by the horns and did it or if you had help?

2. jasonb

jasonb I think I'll keep her

Started on my own with no help and did a squirrel plastered to a wall.

3. BVanKirk

BVanKirk package deal

read a bunch of books and put a black squirrel together during spring break

4. crawdad

crawdad New Member

Same here

5. rccub

rccub Member

first mount was a eight point buck deer. i had read some books, but that was about it. i actually still have that mount. keeps me very humble. ;D

6. My first was a deer, I'm self taught with a lot of help from here, vid's and books. You can only learn so much from that, you just have to do it, and again, and so on, and so on........ ;)

7. The Ojibwa

The Ojibwa Member

Ohio
    I did a fox squirrel...it came out pretty bad but I keep it as a reminder of how far I've come. I would recommend skinning/fleshing a fresh specimen and then freeze to mount at a later date. When I did it I skinned, fleshed, and mounted all in one day...it was a sun-up to sun-down project. I am proud to say I'm self taught (not saying having a mentor is a bad thing...actually, I wish I had one!) but use this website as your helping tool. To say I had no help is a lie because I use this website constantly...but as far as having someone looking over my shoulder, I did not.

8. jasonb

jasonb I think I'll keep her

I've had several mentors since the beginning.

9. Matt

Matt Active Member

I mounted a coon, and my mom and dad still have it at their log home. I see it everytime I am there and I still think it looks pretty good for a first.

10. Becky P