1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

I'm sending all my stuff out for now on

Discussion in 'Tanning' started by redwolf, Feb 19, 2009.

1. redwolf

redwolf Active Member

In no way am I knocking Krowtann, and I'm not saying the guys that use it are crazy BUT it didn't work too good for me. I send all my capes out, but I've been tanning small game myself.
    This is my first attempt at Krowtann, and I followed the directions to a T.
    I live in a city and I know they put all kinds of crap in the water in the winter so I'm sure it effects my tans. I did 2 gray fox and one came out fine but this is what I got with #2. 50% Is no good IMO.
    Luckily this was my own and not a customers fox but I wont be taking any more chances.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. It really slipped bad Bob. I would like to know why it did that too. Makes me not want to use that.

3. stuffenstuff

stuffenstuff Member

I REST MY CASE! Don't send them out redwolf try lutan-f. I promise you will be happy when you can hang a bowlling ball from the hair on the back of the ear's of gray fox :)

4. redwolf

redwolf Active Member

Like I said, I just think it's the additives in our water.
    Maybe that explains why I think the way I do :p.
    I should have just stuck with sending everything out.

I've used Lutan f. I wanted to try Krowtann out.
    I'm still gonna just send my stuff out. It doesn't matter what I use for a tan if my water is constantly changing from the additives.

5. That's all I use.

6. Hey wolf, I had the samething happen to me with a small yote. I used the krowtann and was not pleased. My water is well water and the ph is different than city water, but same results you had. I now use the JRTS (tanning cream) on small mammals as well as deer. I have had no problems with and am quite pleased.

7. stuffenstuff

stuffenstuff Member