1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

How do I get started?

Discussion in 'Training' started by Maineiac36, Feb 27, 2009.

1. Maineiac36

Maineiac36 Active Member

I am an avid artist and outdoorsman living in Maine. I am interested in learning how to become a taxidermist. Does anyone have any suggestions. I am brand new to this site. Please welcome me.

2. jbnf

jbnf New Member

Welcome to the site. It is very helpful and is filled with more knowledge than you could have imagined. The biggest suggestion that I could give is to buy some dvd's, books, or anything else taxidermy related and watch it and read it over and over. There probably isn't a "easy" animal to start with. Start with something that you have plenty of whether it be a coon, coyote, fox whatever and practice on them. Be sure and post them on here for the pros to critique. They will help you tremendously.

Also when using this site remember several things.

1. Its probably been asked before so use the search button to find your answer
    2. Don't get discouraged when someone tells it like it is on here
    3. Don't give up, the more you practice the better you will be

And once again welcome to the world of taxidermy and to this strange place we hang out!!

3. Maineiac36

Maineiac36 Active Member

Jbnf, Thank you for the reply as well as the advice. I look forward to the challenges that lay ahead.

4. CAMOGUY

CAMOGUY CAN'T COUNT IT TILL YOU MOUNT IT.

OH CHALLENGES THERE WILL BE AS LONG AS YOU WANT TO TO TAXIDERMY. GOOD LUCK AND WELCOME.

5. WASCO sell the Breakthrough series of books, you may even buy them here scond hand. The information while 20 years old is still current. its the basics and thats where and how you start! Then get a few videos or DVDs.

The new Breakthrough series of DVDs are outstanding along with Rick Carters DVD on Whitetails.

6. deadwood

deadwood New Member