1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

Reproduction antlers critique

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by silvan, Mar 1, 2009.

1. silvan

silvan New Member

this is my first attempt at this and wanted opinions befor I give it a final clear coat. I have satin and gloss clear coats, witch one do i want to use?
    [​IMG]
    I placed them next to some real horns for referance
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. silvan

silvan New Member

ow ya, I did not make these only painted them!

3. Russ of V.O.W.T

Russ of V.O.W.T my Ken Edwards moment

dont take this the wrong way, but i think they are to dark and look nothing like the real thing from this area anyway.

as far as coating them, i dont put anything on them, unless its a matte sealer, and i only lightly do that, on reproductions only, i dont put anything on real antlers.

4. Jim L

Jim L New Member

I also think they look too dark.

5. I agree with Russ and Jim . However, there are deer that have antlers that dark. My father shot one in maine a few years ago and they're the darkest ive seen. I think you should tone down the white tips on the smaller one, but tahts just me. I guess it all depends on the reference your using

6. silvan

silvan New Member

than I shall try to lighten them up. I used thinner and the tar from a shingle to do the color, they are antlers for a jack-o-lop but will go on a racoon!

7. Russ of V.O.W.T

Russ of V.O.W.T my Ken Edwards moment

i use aged oak gelstain by minwax for a base coat, wipe on and wipe off unti you get the shade you desire. Tar and thinner seems like an awful way to go to get the results you want. I have never tried that method, but tar in general would keep me from trying it LOL

8. They look to dark, the way i do it is i use the a dark brown water based paint, then ill have a brush, and paper towel and just paint then wipe till everything looks good.

9. chongo

chongo Member