1. Welcome to Taxidermy.net, Guest!
    We have put together a brief tutorial to help you with the site, click here to access it.

DP vs. "home tan"

Discussion in 'Tanning' started by hounddoggy, Mar 20, 2009.

1. more trouble than results are worth

2 vote(s)
    7.4%
  2. worth the trouble,better end product

25 vote(s)
    92.6%
  1. hounddoggy

hounddoggy Member

How many of you feel that the added steps required in home tanning provides a finished product that is "better enough" than dp to make it worth doing?

2. hounddoggy

hounddoggy Member

a reply would be politically incorrect i guess!hahaha

3. boss400

boss400 Member

I'll let you know in a week or so i just done a deer with syn oil tan i have been using DP for over 30 years. I like the condition the cape is in with tan, clean ,soft lot of stretch.The gluing part i will have to get use to,with DP it shrinks nice and tite. The tanning part was fun nice change

4. hounddoggy

hounddoggy Member

boss 400,my main problem IS LACK OF STRETCH! Ya hear of so many who say with dp there is no stretch!I have to wonder if they ever used it.Ive tanned two deer and a coyote and fought them all of the way.In my opinion they BOTH shrink.Dp shrinks AFTER mounting and tan shrink (a ton) BEFORE mounting.I called a supply company to get "technical assistance"......they tried to sell me a stretcher! hmmmmm.....go figure!

5. cyclone

cyclone Posts: 400001

Doggy, Did you test that scrap piece of hide...

There are folks trying to steer you straight here but I'm afraid your method suffers from cranial temper disorder!

6. hounddoggy

hounddoggy Member